You have permission to edit this article.
Republican Brandon Doiel, Democrat Zach Cavalier win races for Harrison County Sheriff in Primary Election

Republican Brandon Doiel, Democrat Zach Cavalier win races for Harrison County Sheriff in Primary Election

  • Updated
Only $5 for 5 months

*Editor's Note: This story was updated on June 5 at 9:40 a.m. and includes some additional information.

Republican Brandon Doiel was victorious by nearly 700 votes in the Republican race for Harrison County Sheriff in the 2020 Primary Election.

The unofficial results were released Tuesday evening, June 2, shortly after the polls closed.

“I am very overwhelmed with the support that I received during the Primary Election,” said Doiel, adding that he would like to express his heartfelt appreciation to the voters of Harrison County.

Doiel added that he would like to provide a huge thank you to his family, friends, co-workers, and the great people of the community that assisted him with building a winning campaign. And he appreciates the time and effort taken by each voter during this election.

Cavalier was also very thankful for the support from voters.

On the Zach Cavalier For Harrison County Sheriff’s Facebook page, he said "thank you" to everyone who voted, adding that he truly appreciates the support.

I look forward to getting out and meeting people and explaining my platform for Harrison County Sheriff over the coming months, Cavalier also wrote.

Doiel's vote count came in at 1,447. Behind him in second was current Woodbine Police Chief Michael Jensen with 750 votes.

On The People For Michael Jensen For Harrison County Sheriff Facebook page, Jensen wrote, in part, “I would like to take this opportunity to thank everyone that helped and supported me throughout my campaign.”

He added, “The results were not what we hoped for, but this gives me the opportunity to continue concentrating on keeping the Woodbine Police Department the best trained and most proactive department in the county while working with the greatest bunch of people I could ever hope to work with.”

There were seven total write-in votes for the position on the Republican side.

As for the Democratic race for Sheriff, only one candidate was on the ballot, current Logan Police Chief Zach Cavalier.

Cavalier earned himself 597 votes, or 85.78 percent. The write-in vote tally was 99, or 14.22 percent.

In the Republican race for U.S. Senator, Joni Ernst was the only candidate on the ballot. She got 2,065 votes. The write-in total was 22.

Theresa Greenfield won the Democratic race for U.S. Senator with 510 votes. The next closest candidate, Kimberly Graham, had 124 votes, followed by Michael Franken, who had 86 votes.

U.S. Representative, District 4 winner in the Republican race was Steve King with 1,141 votes. He beat out Randy Feenstra, who ended up with 499 votes.

Bret Richards came in third place with 188 votes and in fourth, Jeremy Taylor with 158 votes.

In the Democratic race, J.D. Scholten was the winner. He was the only candidate on the list and earned 754 votes. The write-in total was five.

Sole candidate Jan Creasman took home the win in the Democratic race for State Representative, District 017 with 489 votes. There were six total write-in votes.

Matt Windschitl was victorious on the Republican side. He, too, was the only candidate on the list and tallied up 1,347 votes with the write-in total coming in at 17.

Sole candidate on the Republican side Steven Holt, with 687 votes, and sole candidate on the Democrat Damon Hopkins, 263 votes, were each winners for the position of State Representative, District 018.

The write-in totals for the two races were eight and two, respectively.

Republican John Straight, the only candidate on the ballot, had 2,001 votes to win in the Harrison County Supervisor race while no candidates where on the ballot for the Democratic side. There were a total of 42 and 64 write-in votes, respectively.

Finally, no candidates were on the ballot on the Republican side for the County Auditor race. The write-in vote total was 136.

On the Democratic side, Susan Bonham was the sole contender for the position of County Auditor and won with 782 votes. There were just four write-in votes.

Of the total registered 6,295 voters, the number of voters totaled 3,144, or 49.94 percent.

County Auditor Susan Bonham said by combining all precincts down to one location at the Logan Community Center, it allowed her to use a larger room for the election workers and voters so that social distancing would be adhered to. 

“I received good comments from the voters for the ease and additional sanitizing steps taken to minimize any contaminates,” Bonham added. 

The voter turnout, in general, was way beyond Bonham’s expectations.

By teaming up with Iowa Secretary of State Paul Pate, Harrison County Republican Chair Wayne Bahr and Democratic Chair Jan Creasman to encourage people to vote by mail, her team was able to count over 2,400 absentee ballots, which is more than Harrison County has ever received in any election.

On Election Day, there were 757 voters at the Logan Community Center. 

“Again, this number exceeded my expectation,” said Bonham. “The election workers were all experienced and were able to process the voters quickly.”  

The Board canvassed the Primary election results Tuesday, June 9.

Related to this story

Most Popular

  • Updated

Two Missouri Valley women are doing their best to empower other women in the county through a group they created on Facebook.

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.